This listing has been closed to new applications. This page exists for archive purposes only.
Pay Range:
$79,720 to $123,234 / Per Year
Job Grade:
Full Time - Career Conditional/Career
Apply by: 2017-10-25 Published: 9 months ago

This position is located in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Weather Service (NWS), Office of the Assistant Administrator (OAA), Office of the Chief Information Officer (ACIO), Silver Sprin

Qualification requirements in the vacancy announcements are based on the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Qualification Standards Handbook, which contains federal qualification standards.

This handbook is available on the Office of Personnel Management's website located at: Requirements: There is no positive education requirement for this position.For all positions individuals must have IT-related experience demonstrating each of the four competencies listed below and at least one year of specialized experience in order to be found minimally qualified:1.

Attention to detail - Is thorough when performing work and conscientious about attending to detail.2.

Customer Service - Works with clients and customers (that is, any individuals who use or receive the services or products that your work unit produces, including the general public, individuals who work in the agency, other agencies, or organizations outside the Government) to assess their needs, provide information or assistance, resolve their problems, or satisfy their expectations; knows about available products and services; is committed to providing quality products and services.3.

Oral Communication - Expresses information (for example, ideas or facts) to individuals or groups effectively, taking into account the audience and nature of the information (for example, technical, sensitive, controversial); makes clear and convincing oral presentations; listens to others, attends to nonverbal cues, and responds appropriately.4.

Problem Solving - Identifies problems; determines accuracy and relevance of information; uses sound judgement to generate and evaluate alternatives, and to make recommendations.

SPECIALIZED EXPERIENCE: Applicants must possess one year of specialized experience equivalent in difficulty and responsibility to the next lower grade in the Federal service.

Specialized experience is experience that has equipped the applicant with the particular competencies /knowledge, skills and abilities to successfully perform the duties of the position.

This experience need not be in the Federal government.Experience refers to paid and unpaid experience, including volunteer work done through National Service programs (e.g., Peace Corps, AmeriCorps) and other organizations e.g., professional; philanthropic, religious; spiritual; community, student, social).

Volunteer work helps build critical competencies; knowledge, and skills and can provide valuable training and experience that translates directly to paid employment.

You will receive credit for all qualifying experience, including volunteer experience.

To qualify at the GS-12 grade level: SPECIALIZED EXPERIENCE: One full year (52 weeks) of specialized experience equivalent to the GS-11 in the Federal service.

Specialized experience MUST include all of the following:Analyzing unique system problems and recommending resolutions with development and project management.Applying technology and basic management principles to adapt computer methods.Developing processes to collect meaningful data for input into unit-desired metrics to develop reports that provide metric-related informationTo qualify at the GS-13 grade level: SPECIALIZED EXPERIENCE: One full year (52 weeks) of specialized experience equivalent to the GS-12 in the Federal service.

Specialized experience MUST include all of the following:Evaluating proposals for the acquisition of IT products or services.Developing, interpreting, and implementing IT policies, standards, and guidelines.Developing applications and software while overseeing provision and support of complex computing, and data flow services.

All qualified United States Citizens or Nationals.